Hidden Gluten and Wheat

Bookmark and Share

To ensure safe gluten free and wheat foods, it is best to understand ingredients, aliases and hidden sources of gluten and wheat.

Gluten is the protein found in wheat, rye and barley

Testing shows that most oats have gluten levels beyond the acceptable range for those following gluten-free diets due to cross-contamination in the milling process. There are numerous manufacturers around the world that produce tested and certified gluten-free oats. Unless you are eating certified gluten-free oats, it is recommended that you avoid oats when managing a gluten-free diet.

Expert Advice on Cooking Gluten and Wheat Free

Recipe & Product Ideas for Gluten, Wheat and Dairy Free Foods

Gluten Free Allergen Card


Items CONTAINING Either Gluten or Wheat

The following is a listing of grains and flours that CONTAIN GLUTEN OR WHEAT:

  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Graham
  • Matzoh Meal
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Wheat Germ
  • Wheat Starch

Potential Gluten-Containing Ingredients

The following ingredients represent potential sources of gluten, wheat and their derivatives:

  • Artificial Bacon Bits
  • Artificial Mashed Potato Mix
  • Bouillon (packaged)
  • Bread or Bread Crumbs
  • Cakes or Cookies
  • Cheese (pasteur­ized processed)
  • Colors or Flavors (produced outside of North America)
  • Croutons
  • Dumpling Skins
  • Fish Sauce (made outside of Thailand)
  • Imitation Crabmeat or Seafood (Surimi)
  • Malt
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Noodles or Pasta
  • Salad Dressing (commercially produced)
  • Sauce, Dipping Sauce or Salsa
  • Seasonings (commercially produced)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Tortillas or Tortilla Chips
  • Yogurt, Yogurt Curd or Yogurt Sauce (commercially produced)

Key Preparation Techniques & Other Considerations

The following additional ingredients and preparation techniques represent areas of concern for those managing celiac disease and gluten free diets:

  • Batter typically contains gluten/wheat flour.
  • Beans may include wheat flour as an ingredient.
  • Boiling Water must be fresh in all cases to eliminate the possibility of cross-contact from water used to prepare gluten-containing items.
  • Breading typically contains gluten/wheat flour.
  • Dedicated Fryer is a fryer that only fries one particular food type (e.g. bat­tered items only or French fries). Dedicated fryers eliminate the possibility of gluten/wheat cross-contact from frying battered, breaded or wheat flour dusted foods with non-gluten containing foods.
  • Flour Dusting is a technique used for coating meat or fish with an ingredient, such as gluten/wheat flour, for texture prior to pan-frying.
  • Fluffing Agent is a term used for adding an ingredient, such as gluten/wheat flour to eggs to enhance their appearance and increase their volume.
  • Fresh Oil is necessary for gluten-free food preparation to eliminate the possibility of cross-contact from cooking oil used for gluten-containing items.
  • Marinades may have soy sauce or packaged seasonings which contains gluten/wheat or gluten/wheat flour as an ingredient.
  • Side Dishes or Accompaniments can often contain gluten/wheat containing ingredients.
  • Thickening Agent is an ingredient, such as gluten/wheat flour, added to soups or sauces so they may have a higher viscosity or thickness.

Gluten & Wheat Free Grains and Flours

The following list of grains, flours & starches ARE GLUTEN-FREE and may be substituted for traditionally gluten containing items:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Beans
  • Black Gram
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpea (Besan)
  • Corn
  • Garbanzo
  • Garfava
  • Lentil
  • Millet
  • Montina
  • Nut Flours
  • Pea
  • Pinto
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Sweet Potato
  • Tapioca (Manioc)
  • Teff

Wheat Free Grains Containing Gluten

It should be noted that an individual can have allergies, intolerances or sensitivities to wheat without having the dietary concerns for other grains that contain gluten. The following grains, although wheat-free, CONTAIN GLUTEN and must be avoided to ensure a gluten-free meal for your guests:

  • Kamut
  • Spelt
  • Tritical